≡ Menu

Thumbs down on Breakup

Breakup is a new Facebook application that tells you when you've been removed as a friend.  Big thumbs down, I'm afraid.  Part of the appeal of Facebook as a social network is that you don't have to tell people that you've ignored, unfriended or blocked them.  It's one of the privacy guarantees that Facebook makes to their users. Applications shouldn't have the ability to over-ride this basic guarantee.  The Facebook terms of service should be changed to prevent this from happening. 

{ 2 comments… add one }

  • Aswath January 16, 2008, 4:51 am

    I did not know that defriending is stealthy. So it is possible for you to be my friend and me not yours? Will I not know that this is the case when I try to visit your wall or anything like that? How does it really work? I want to test it. Can you please unfriend me and let me know. Thanks.

  • Alec January 16, 2008, 6:59 am

    You're unfriended now Aswath. Let me know what you find out!

Leave a Comment